I stumbled across this free online course while searching for firearm training online and thought it would be good to share with you just in case you are looking for training like this. The NRA Online Hunter Education course is designed to help new hunters of all ages learn how to be safe and responsible members of the hunting community. From the organization that built the first-ever hunter education program in 1949, this state-of-the-art course is the most comprehensive online hunter education instruction in the United States…and like I mentioned earlier it’s 100% FREE.
No organization does more to support hunters than the National Rifle Association.
Official Connecticut Department of Energy & Environmental Protection Online Hunter Education Course
The NRA online Hunter Education course for Connecticut is free to everyone. Upon successful completion of this online course, students will be issued a voucher proving they’ve passed the NRA online course. This voucher will need to be presented at the mandatory Connecticut Firearms Hunting Course. All students must attend this Firearms Hunting Course after taking the NRA online course.
Official Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission hunter safety course
The NRA online Hunter Education course for Florida is free to everyone. All Florida students need to schedule and complete a Skills Day course as required by Florida law. Upon successful completion of this online course, students will be issued a voucher proving they’ve passed the NRA online course. This voucher will need to be presented at the Skills Day course.
Follow this link to register for a Skills Day course near you: https://public.myfwc.com/hgm/huntersafety/clsmap.aspx
Choose one of the dates labeled “Internet Students Only,” and fill out the online registration form. Students must attend the full class time to successfully complete the Skills Day course.
Official Kentucky Department of Fish and Wildlife Resources hunter safety course
The NRA online Hunter Education course for Kentucky is free to everyone 9 years of age and older. Anyone born after January 1, 1975, needs hunter education, if not exempt.
Upon successful completion of this online course, students will be issued a certification proving they’ve passed the NRA online course. This certification will need to be presented at the mandatory Kentucky Range Day.
To register for a mandatory Range Day visit: https://register-ed.com/programs/kentucky/121
Learn more about our learn to hunt, fish and shoot programs here: https://fw.ky.gov/Education/Pages/R3.aspx
Official New Mexico Department of Game and Fish hunter safety course
The NRA online Hunter Education course for New Mexico is FREE and is available to residents 11 years of age and older! *Note – You must be a resident of New Mexico to receive a certification for taking this course.
Hunters under 18 years of age may not hunt with a firearm without first obtaining a certificate proving that they have passed this, or another state’s hunter education course or is currently registered in the New Mexico Mentored-Youth (MY) Hunting Program. New Mexico hunters over the age of 18 are not required to take hunter education but are highly encouraged to take this free Hunter Education course.
Important – Students will need a New Mexico Department of Game & Fish “Customer Identification Number” (CIN) account to complete this course. Please visit onlinesales.wildlife.state.nm.us to locate your existing Customer Identification Number (CIN) account or create a new one. Call the department’s customer call center, toll-free at 888-248-6866 for more information on how to set up an account.
*Certification for this course is only available for New Mexico residents*
Oklahoma Hunter Safety Course
The NRA online hunter education course for Oklahoma is free to everyone. Upon completion of this online course, students ten years and older will be issued a hunter education certification card. Students under ten years of age are not eligible for a hunter education certification, however, they will be issued a “certificate of completion” that can be used as proof of passing the course. This certificate will only be used to meet the requirement of certain shooting sports organizations. Students who are issued this certificate, upon turning ten, will be required to complete the entire hunter education course again.
IMPORTANT – Students will need an Oklahoma Department of Wildlife Conservation Customer ID number to complete this course. Please visit https://license.gooutdoorsoklahoma.com to locate your existing Customer ID number or create a new one. You will be asked for this number at the end of the online class and it is required to receive your certificate.
Individuals who are ten and under can hunt any game species in Oklahoma using an apprentice-designated hunting license. For more information visit: https://www.wildlifedepartment.com/content/how-do-i-hunt-without-hunter-education
Official Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife hunter safety course
The NRA online Hunter Education course for Oregon is free to everyone. Students under 18 receive a Field Day Qualifier Certificate and will be required to attend a Field day to complete their Hunter Education. Students over 18 are required to pay the state of Oregon $10 to receive a Hunter Education Certificate which the NRA collects on their behalf (100% of this fee is returned to the state).
To register for a field day visit: https://myodfw.com/articles/hunter-education-online-courses
Official Texas Parks and Wildlife Department hunter safety course
This Online Hunter Education Course is provided FREE to everyone by the NRA.
There are two ways to gain Texas Hunter Education Certification using the NRA course:
- A student age 9 through 16 years who successfully completes this course receives a “Field Course Voucher” and must attend an instructor-led Field Course to complete the training. For information, procedures, and locations of Field Courses, go to https://tpwd.elementlms.com/course-category/hunter-education-field-course/
- A student age 17 and over does not need to attend a Field Course, but, upon successful completion, is required to pay the State of Texas $5 to receive a permanent Hunter Education Certificate. The NRA collects the $5 fee on behalf of the State of Texas, plus an added Service fee, and returns all fees to Texas. A student is provided a temporary certification following successful completion.
Official West Virginia Division of Natural Resources hunter safety course